Open Parliament / Senate


Thursday 8 December from 2pm to 6 pm

Palais du Luxembourg, 15 Rue de Vaugirard – 75015 – Paris

Languages : French and English


Provisional program:

Moderator: Catherine Morin-Desailly, President of the Commission on Culture, Education and Communication

14h:  Welcome

14h15 : Introduction by Catherine Morin-Desailly, President of the Commission on culture, education and communication

14h20 : Opening by Gérard Larcher, President of the Senate

14h30 : Focus – Current situation on “Digital and connected Senate  : efficiency, exigence and transparency”

  • Thierry Foucaud, vice – president of the Senate in charge of the Commission on new technologies
  • Thierry Happe, President of the Netexplo Observatory

15h00 : Rountable 1 – Which challenges for “open and connected territories” ?

  • Introduction : Emmanuel EVENO, Professor
    • Patrick Chaize, Senator, rapporteur for the French Digital Act
    • John Billard, President of the Rural Mayors ‘Association in Eure-et-Loir, member of the board of the French Mayors’ Association
    • Frédérique Macarez, Mayor of Saint-Quentin (TBC).
    • Francis Pisani, Open democracy expert, author
    • Tatiana de Feraudy, Researcher in Fabrique Urbaine/Nouvelle Prospérité at l’Institut du développement durable et des relations internationales
  • Remote participation :
    • Hervé Maurey, President of the urban planning and sustainable development Commission
    • Corinne Bouchoux, Vice-president of the Commission on culture, education and communication
    • Jean-Pierre Sueur, Vice-president of the Commission on constitutional laws, legislation, universal suffrage and general administration

16h00: Q&A

16h30 : Keynote by Benoît Thieulin, former President of the French Digital Council

16h45 : Rountable 2 – Which democratic challenges for “open Parliaments”?

  • Introduction : Lawrence Lessig, Professor at Harvard Law School
    • André Gattolin, vice-president of the Commission on finances and European affairs
    • Member of the European Parliament
    • Jens Koeppen, President of the Digital Agenda at the Bundestag (TBC)
    • Andy Williamson, Expert on digital democracy and democratic innovations
    • Eric Adja, Director of the digital Francophonie at the International Organization for the Francophonie (TBC)
    • Isabelle Falque-Perrotin, President of the French Data Protection Agency, President of the G29, group of European Data Protection Agencies
  • Remote participation :
    • Jean Bizet, President of the Commission on European
    • Didier Guillaume, President of the socialist and republican group
    • Jacques Mézard, President of the Rassemblement Démocratique and Social Européen
    • Bernard Stiegler, philosophe (recorded).

17h45: Q&A

18h15 : Closing Jean-Vincent Placé, French Minister for the State Reform and Simplification