Current senator, former President of the Senate of Chile, and chairman of the Independent Democratic Union political party. Senator Larraín was elected to the Senate representing District 11, the Maule Region, in 1994. He served a one-year term as President of the Senate from 2004-2005. He currently serves as the President of the Senate Committee on Ethics and Transparency and chair of the Bicameral Commission on Transparency of the Congress. Senator Larraín is president of the Open Network Parliament of ParlAmericas and he co-coordinates de Legislative Openness Group of OGP with the NDI.