Mrs Noliqwa Florah Maboa-Boltman has an illustrious political profile having been an activist within the various formations which made up the then mass democratic movement in South Africa. She has served in various capacities within the labour movement in the mid-1980s and post unbanning of liberation organisations served in various portfolios within the South African Communist Party and mostly the African National Congress. She has served at provincial and regional levels. As a seasoned gender activist she has served in various portfolios within the African National Congress Women’s league and the Progressive Women’s Movement.

She commands a wealth of experience in local government having been a councillor for over 15 years serving in a number of strategic portfolios including finance, as a speaker and currently as the Executive Mayor of Govern Mbeki Local Municipality. Through these strategic areas of political deployment, she has amassed the necessary political savvy which earned her the election to the National Executive Committee of the South African Local Government Association.

As a National Executive Committee member, as a Deputy Chairperson she was nominated to serve as a Trustee of the Municipal Councillor Pension Fund where she also served as the Deputy Chairperson of the fund. As a unionist, she served as a shops ward, a skills development activist which essentially is political education as well as a Trustee of the Chemical Industries National Provident Fund (CINPF).

Mrs Boltman is currently an Office bearer at a regional level for the African National Congress. She is also the Executive Mayor of Govern Mbeki Local Municipality which is in the Mpumalanga Province of South Africa.

Before joining the local government sector Mrs Boltman worked as a librarian, a skills and leadership development practitioner in various sectors including mining and the petroleum industries. Her academic profile covers several programmes acquired from the Universities of the Witwatersrand and what used to be called Rand Afrikaans University which is now known as the University of Johannesburg.